MINUTES 2016 ANNUAL MEETING BIG BEND GROUNDWATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT #5 *AND* CENTRAL KANSAS WATER BANK ASSOCIATION February 18, 2016 – Stafford County Annex – St. John

The annual meetings for the Big Bend Groundwater Management District #5 (District) and the Central Kansas Water Bank Association (Association) were held February 18, 2016 at 7:00pm at the Stafford County Annex in St. John, Kansas.

Association Chairman, John Janssen called the Association meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. There were approximately 27 eligible voters and 13 visitors in attendance for the meeting.

Association Secretary/Treasurer Curtis Tobias read the minutes from the 2015 annual meeting. John Janssen noted a correction in regards to the number of positions filled in the 2015 annual meeting for the Association. It was moved and seconded to approve the 2015 annual meeting minutes as corrected. The minutes were approved unanimously by raise of hands.

Greg Ebert announced the Association election of directors and presented the candidate for Position #3 – Dennis Holl. Nominations were opened to the floor. With no nominations being made, a motion was made and seconded that nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast for Position #3. By a show of hands the motion carried unanimously.

Association Chairman John Janssen adjourned the Association meeting at 7:15 p.m.

District Vice-President Fred Grunder called the District meeting to order at 7:15 p.m. and noted the vendors present with booths.

District Secretary Curtis Tobias announced the District election of directors and presented candidates. Incumbent Fred Grunder was on the ballot for Pratt County. Incumbent Justin Gatz was on the ballot for Reno County. Incumbent Kent Lamb and Kenneth Sewing were on the ballot for Stafford County. Nominations were opened to the floor. With no nominations being made, a motion was made and seconded that nominations cease. The eligible voters in attendance were instructed to vote for one candidate for each position. The ballots were then collected and counted.

District Treasurer John Janssen presented the proposed 2017 budget to the public for review. Mr. Janssen told the audience that a hearing would be held in July on the 2017 proposed budget. Following discussion from the floor, it was moved and seconded to review the proposed budget at the upcoming budget hearing in July. By show of hands, the motion passed unanimously.

District Manager Orrin Feril gave a presentation on District and Association activities for the past year. The hydrologic conditions of the District were presented to the audience via a series of maps. Additionally, Mr. Feril presented an overview of the ongoing projects and issues throughout the District. Questions were then taken and answered from the floor.

Lane Letourneau, KDA–DWR, gave an update on a few of the legislative bills that are being worked this legislative session. Jeff Lanterman, KDA–DWR, gave a presentation on the Division of Water Resources activities for the past year and answered questions from the floor.

Trevor Ahring, SW Kansas GMD3, gave an overview of the irrigation technology grant through the Regional Conservation Partnership Program. Interested water users were encouraged to discuss this program further with their county NRCS staff.

John Teeter, Teeter Irrigation, showed a brief presentation on the Dragon-Line system and the potential water savings that can be achieved on a center pivot irrigation system.

Curtis Tobias presented the District election results as follows Fred Grunder, Justin Gatz, and Kent Lamb were re-elected for the Pratt County, Reno County and Stafford County positions, respectively.

After further questions and comments from the audience, the District annual meeting adjourned at 9:00 p.m.

Tabis _____ Date <u>April 7,2016</u> Attest by

Secretary for the Board