MINUTES 2012 ANNUAL MEETING BIG BEND GROUNDWATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT #5 February 17, 2012 – Stafford County Annex – St. John

The annual meeting of the Big Bend Groundwater Management District #5 was held February 17, 2012 at the Stafford County Annex in St. John, Kansas.

President Darrell Wood called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and introduced the board of directors. There were approximately 48 people in attendance for the meeting.

Curtis Tobias presented the minutes of the 2011 meeting. With no corrections or additions, the minutes were approved.

Dave Romero and Steve Silver of Balleau Groundwater of Albuquerque, New Mexico, gave an overview of the groundwater model. Questions and comments followed the presentation.

Board Member, Kent Lamb announced the election of directors and presented candidates. Incumbent John Janssen was on the ballot for Kiowa County. Bob Standish was on the ballot for Pawnee County and Tom Taylor was on the ballot for Director-at-Large. Nominations were open to the floor. With no nominations being made, a motion was made and seconded that nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast for all three candidates. By a show of hands the motion carried.

Board Member, John Janssen presented the proposed 2013 budget. Mr. Janssen told the audience that a hearing would be held in July on the 2013 proposed budget. It was moved and seconded to adopt the proposed budget. By show of hands, the motion passed.

District Manager, Wes Essmiller gave a presentation on district activities for the past year and answered questions from the floor.

Jeff Lanterman, Water Commissioner, gave a presentation on the Division of Water Resources activities for the past year and answered questions from the floor.

After further questions and comments from the audience, the meeting adjourned at 8: 40 p.m.

Secretary for the Board