MINUTES 2011 ANNUAL MEETING BIG BEND GROUNDWATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT #5 February 17, 2011 – Ida Long Goodman Library – St. John

The annual meeting of the Big Bend Groundwater Management District #5 was held February 17, 2011 at the Ida Long Goodman Memorial Library in St. John, Kansas.

President Darrell Wood called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and introduced the board of directors and new Manager, Wes Essmiller. There were approximately 32 people in attendance for the meeting.

Curtis Tobias presented the minutes of the 2010 meeting. With no corrections or additions, the minutes were approved.

Tracy Streeter, Director of the Kansas Water Office, gave a presentation of the status of water in the state and also gave information on what the Kansas Water Office is currently working on.

Greg Henderson, NRCS, from Edwards County gave an update on the AWEP and EQIP programs that are underway within the district.

Board Member, Kevin Shultz announced the election of directors and presented candidates. Incumbent Phillip Martin and Roger Brining were on the ballot for Barton County. Incumbents Darrell Wood of Edwards County and Curtis Tobias for Rice County were also on the ballot. Nominations were open to the floor. With no nominations being made, Mr. Wood instructed the audience to vote for one director for each county. The ballots were then collected for counting.

Board Member, John Janssen gave an overview of the 2010 income and expenses and presented the proposed 2012 budget. Mr. Janssen told the audience that a hearing would be held in July on the 2012 proposed budget. It was moved and seconded to adopt the proposed budget. By show of hands, the motion passed.

District Manager, Wes Essmiller gave a presentation on district activities for the past year and answered questions from the floor.

Board Member, Kevin Schultz announced the election results. Phillip Martin was elected for the Barton County position and Incumbents Darrell Wood of Edwards County and Curtis Tobias of Rice County were reelected, all for a three-year term.

After further questions and comments from the audience, the meeting adjourned at 8: 20 p.m.

Attest by	Date
-----------	------

Secretary for the Board

Min Ann 2011 Pg 1