MINUTES

2010 ANNUAL MEETING BIG BEND GROUNDWATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT #5

February 18, 2010 – Ida Long Goodman Library – St. John

The annual meeting of the Big Bend Groundwater Management District #5 was held February 18, 2010 at the Ida Long Goodman Memorial Library in St. John, Kansas.

President Phillip Martin called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and introduced the board of directors. There were approximately 67 people in attendance for the meeting.

Attorney Chuck Lee, representing the Big Bend Groundwater Management District No. 5, was on hand for the evenings meeting, addressed issues for proxy voting and answered questions from the audience.

Curtis Tobias presented the minutes of the 2009 meeting. With no corrections or additions, the minutes were approved.

Board Member, Darrell Wood announced the election of directors and presented candidates. Incumbent Vernon Hirt and Fred Grunder were on the ballot for Pratt County. Incumbents Ed Shultz of Reno County and Kent Lamb for Stafford County were also on the ballot. Nominations were open to the floor. With no nominations being made, Mr. Wood instructed the audience to vote for one director for each county. The ballots were then collected for counting.

Board Member, John Janssen gave an overview of the 2009 income and expenses and presented the proposed 2011 budget. Mr. Janssen told the audience that a hearing would be held in July on the 2011 proposed budget. It was moved and seconded to adopt the proposed budget. By show of hands, the motion passed.

District Manager, Sharon Falk gave a presentation on district activities for the past year and answered questions from the floor.

Jeff Lanterman, Acting Water Commissioner for the Division of Water Resources gave a brief presentation on the Divisions activities.

Board Member, Darrell Wood announced the election results. Fred Grunder was elected for the Pratt County position and Incumbents Ed Shultz, Reno County and Kent Lamb, Stafford County were reelected, all for a three-year term.

After further questions and comments from the audience, the meeting adjourned at 9:00 p.m.